MK’s 5 Coziest Spots

Bonnie and I were talking about all the things we have in common and got onto the topic of how having a home that feels lived in and loved is important to both of us. Thus, the topic for this post and Bonnie’s corresponding one was born.

Chris and I moved into our house just over a year ago. In the 3 years before that, I had moved 7 times and never stayed in the same place for very long. The life of a college student turned newlywed pioneer, y’all. To say that I was desperate for some roots was an understatement. When you factor in that Chris travels all the time for work and it’s just me and the fuzzballs holding down the fort – well, I just spend a lot of time at my house.

In the past 14 months I feel like Chris and I have taken our house from builder basic with questionable paint colors, to something that I love coming home to every night. Even when Chris is gone, our house feels like my home and I really love that feeling. It’s not even that we’ve upgraded a thousand things or spent a lot of money on big purchases. Rather, we’ve been on the lookout for unique pieces that fit our homey, lived-in, casual-but-still-intentional style.

I’m just going to to ahead and be upfront, folks. I. suck. at. photography. I wish I could take better pictures and I want to keep practicing! But, right now I’m using the iPad and usually the cover of night to take my photos. So, it’s not a winning combination for a novice like me. I hope we see improvement as this blog goes on.

When I looked at the 5 spots I chose, I realized that I was somehow emotionally tied to all of them. There are also a lot of other fun parts of my home that I want to share, buuuuuut, the photos for those are still too embarrassing.

My dad built this table for us this past Christmas. I can see my children using this table and so many memories from meals around it.

My dad built this table for us this past Christmas. I can see my children using this table and so many memories from meals around it.

 

This is our guest room. Chris and I built the wooden headboard and I painted the word on it. The guest room is m favorite room in the house!

This is our guest room. Chris and I built the wooden headboard and I painted the word on it. The guest room is m favorite room in the house!

 

This little spot is just so quintessentially "me" A little bit of everything I love, right out where I can see it everyday

This little spot is just so quintessentially “me” A little bit of everything I love, right out where I can see it everyday

 

This little shelf has my little collection of miniatures. Kind of bizarre, but I try to find a pig from every new place that I visit. They are all housed here along with my vintage spy camera.

This little shelf has my little collection of miniatures. Kind of bizarre, but I try to find a pig from every new place that I visit. They are all housed here along with my vintage spy camera.

 

This antique tray sits on our island in the kitchen. My grandpa brought it back from England and I like playing around with the styling.

This antique tray sits on our island in the kitchen. My grandpa brought it back from England and I like playing around with the styling.

Are there spots in your home that make you smile when you see them? I love that satisfying feeling.

One thought on “MK’s 5 Coziest Spots

  1. The kitchen window is one of my favorite spots in our house. I love the views from it and the small ledge below holds Gran’s most treasured glass pieces, my secret stash of Dove dark chocolates and avocados.

Leave a Reply

