Baby Showerin’ Time!

Howdy y’all and happy Monday!

Last weekend I had the honor of hosting a baby shower for my friend, Kathryn. She and I have been friends since the 5th grade (my mom was her teacher, too!) and although we went different ways after high school for a few years – we are now neighbors and have been super close since I moved back to our hometown a 2.5 years ago. I’m not an overly gushy kind of gal most of the time, but her friendship is one of my most cherished relationships. She is like a sister to me (awwww …)

The shower was just fantastic! It went off so well and everyone seemed to enjoy everything. There were about 10 of us in all, mainly Kathryn’s close girlfriends, our moms, and her aunt. She’s a lucky girl and gets to have another shower in a couple weeks with all of her family and friends, so it was nice to keep things a little more intimate.

I didn’t really have a specific “theme” in mind – more just some buzzwords – southern, wildflowers, chic, cute, unique, interactive.

All in all, I am really thrilled with how it came out. From the beginning I knew I wanted to do a sit down lunch, rather than just having a buffet and having us eat while milling around. I wanted us to be able to have conversation as a whole group ….. and I wanted to make these really cute menus.

Most of what I did was handmade by me and a friend who came to visit that I wrangled into being crafty with me (thanks, Kells!) – so that just added more meaning to the day. Kathryn’s mom is a phenomenal baker, cook, general food extraordinare who provided a beautiful and delicious cake and some chicken salad and cucumber sandwiches. Really, I shouldn’t say “some sandwiches.” That should read, “Enough to feed an army.”

It was a really lovely day spent with some of Kathryn (and my!) favorite people. We are all so excited for Kathryn and Ben as they meet their little girl in a few weeks and settle into their life of 3. I am personally excited for baby snuggles. Our little Harker is so on the move these days and I miss those snuggles!

Here are some of my favorite pictures and memories from the day ….

Head of the table for K!

Head of the table for K!

DSC_0735

Our craft for the afternoon! Everyone left their thumbprint as a "firefly" and hopefully Kathryn can find somewhere for this in her nursery!

Our craft for the afternoon! Everyone left their thumbprint as a “firefly” and hopefully Kathryn can find somewhere for this in her nursery! Harker even dropped in and left his little thumbprint.

Bad photo, but I am so proud of this garland! Hot glue, twine, and strips of paper.

Bad photo, but I am so proud of this garland! Hot glue, twine, and strips of paper.

I broke my printer making these menus, but it was SO WORTH IT! I love them to pieces.

I broke my printer making these menus, but it was SO WORTH IT! I love them to pieces.

Wedding china, y'all! First time I've been able to use it!

Wedding china, y’all! First time I’ve been able to use it!

DSC_0748

So. Much. Food. Pesto pasta salad, ham biscuits, chicken salad sandwiches, and cucumber sandwiches. Don’t ask me how many biscuits I ate.

DSC_0749

Strawberry pretzel salad, y’all!
Those little mason jars were everywhere with just a few stems in each.

2 most important beverages in life: sangria and sweet tea

2 most important beverages in life: sangria and sweet tea. Our friend Kendra made fruit kebobs with mint and an amazing dip!

The Baby Jeopardy game came out so well. It was a lot of fun.

The Baby Jeopardy game came out so well. It was a lot of fun.

We made candles for little favors to take home. They came out so well - after some trial and error!

We made candles for little favors to take home. They came out so well – after some trial and error!

Cheesin' in up

Cheesin’ in up

Our mama-to-be getting ready to cut into her cake

Our mama-to-be getting ready to cut into her cake

This photo perfectly captures our friendship (Thanks Mama Layne for capturing this)

This photo perfectly captures our friendship (Thanks Mama Layne for capturing this)

Again .... so us

Again …. so us

Putting this shower together was a lot of fun and I’m glad I was able to share it with everyone! Now all there’s left to do is wait to meet this little girl who is already so very special.

xo, Mary Kate

2 thoughts on “Baby Showerin’ Time!

Leave a Reply

