A Zoo and a Sandwich

Life has been wacky. Kudos to MK for taking a timeout!

Last week, Harker and I took a parallel field trip to Todd’s class’s field trip to the Metro Richmond Zoo.

IMG_4249

This was a park space, NOT an animal enclosure.

How early does that classic boyishness start, I ask you!? We had a reasonably good time, though the highlights for Hark were going strollerless for short bursts of time and seeing Daddy walk up.

IMG_4271

There is no camera built that can capture the amount of peanut butter on this child at this time.

We were also delighted to drop in to see a very special Aunt, and I completed the shouldn’t-be-an-achievement-but-guys-it-TOTALLY-IS feat of driving home from Richmond without a GPS!!!

I also realized the incredible affinity I have for the individual who convinced children that crusts should be cut off of sandwiches. What brilliance!!! The crust is the. best. part. !!! And what’s more – removing the crust for your child (At least, at first? As far as I know?!) is a parenting rite of passage that I’m over the moon for. What easier, pain free way do you get to show that “mother’s love”?

You guys, I’m not kidding about this. Sitting in the car, sharing PB & J sandwiches with my little boy, I felt like a Mom.

And I mean that in the best sense possible, and I mean that in a deeper way than I can show you in one wonky little post. Loving Harker is the easiest thing I’ve ever done. Getting to the point where I didn’t feel guilty that he’d been stuck with me, well, that’s been a different road entirely.

I’ve heard the road of parenthood is paved with self doubt, but for now, all that I’m going to focus on is a picnic of PB & J to share on our adventure.

IMG_4259

It looks like he took the picture, doesn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

